Order of the Liberation Menu

The National Commission of the Resistance Medal


As decided by General De Gaulle since 1966 the services of the French Resistance Medal have been the responsibility of the Chancellery of the Order of the Liberation.

The Resistance Medal was created by General De Gaulle with edict No. 42 and decree No. 774, dated 9 February 1943. The Resistance Medal is, "meant to recognize remarkable acts of faith and courage that have contributed, in France, the Empire and abroad, to the French people's resistance against the enemy and their accomplices, as of June 18th, 1940".

This distinction has been awarded to 65,295 Resistance fighters.


Its creation

The National Commission of the Resistance Medal was instituted by Article 3 of decree No. 774.


Its original role

The National Commission of the Resistance Medal originally had four members and was responsible for giving its opinion regarding each proposal presented for candidates for this honor.

The first members of the National Commission were named by decree No. 909 of 6 April 1943: Major Claude Hettier de Boislambert, President, Antoine Bissagnet, Jacques Emile Paris, and Commander Pierre Brossolette.


Its current role

The Commission was deactivated April 1st, 1947, except for deportees kept prisoners in a concentration camp who died for France, who may still be awarded the medal posthumously. Since then, the Defense Ministry consults with the National Commission regarding each file presented requesting posthumous award.

The Commission also manages the files of the Medal recipients, handles the various requests for information concerning Resistance Medal awardees, and prepares the diplomas that indicate who the recipient of the Medal is.